Fennica Gehrman

Latest publications

B.H.Crusell: Concertino for Bassoon and Orchestra B Flat

Bernhard Henrik Crusell (1775-1838) is the best-known Finnish composer of the Classical period. Available first time as a new, engraved score, the Concertino for Bassoon and Orchestra shows the skills that made Crusell one of the best-known composers in the early 19th century.
55011-250-6 (score, parts available for hire)
€ 60,00 Buy now

Einojuhani Rautavaara: Adagio celeste

for string orchesta
Einojuhani Rautavaara composed this string orchestra work inspired by a sensual poem by Lassi Nummi written in 1982. The music is built on a twelve-tone row and it weaves a sonorous string texture.
Score and set of parts (33221)
55011-251-3, € 48,00 Buy now

Jean Sibelius: Cassazione

for orchestra
First edition! This is the first version of Cassazione op. 6 (1904) for large orchestra with double woodwinds, four French horns, two trumpets and three trombones. Sibelius made his first sketches for material that would later find its way into Cassazione at the end of the 1890s. There are already hints of it among the sketches of his first symphony [Read more.... Read the complete preface.
55011-235-3 (score), € 25,90 Buy now

Einojuhani Rautavaara

The Temptations / Kiusaukset
Allegorical ballet in one act
Piano reduction (first publication)
55011-246-9, € 31,30 Buy now

Ballad for Harp and Strings
string orchestra parts: 33221
55011-244-5, € 48,00 Buy now

Matthew Whittall

Paysages abstraits
for piano
55011-242-1, € 9,50 Buy now

for oboe and piano
55011-243-8, € 14,80 Buy now

Olli Kortekangas: Verbum

for double mixed choir
Text: D. H. Lawrence, Apocalypsis Iohannis, Evangelium secundum Iohannem  (Lat+Eng)
Revised edition of the Kortekangas work dating from 1987. The different texts are in dialogue as well as the two choirs. Glissandos, whispers and recitatives give the singers a chance to demonstrate their virtuosity.
55009-916-6, € 10,40 Buy now

Harri Wessman: Olli's Solo - Tapio Jalas in memoriam

for flute and piano
These two pieces were composed in 1980 and 1993. Wessman linked them together as a homage to two important musicians Olli Pohjola and Tapio Jalas, but the pieces can also be performed separately.
55011-239-1, € 9,50 Buy now

Pasi Lyytikäinen: Jiän iänj - The Sound of Ice

for solo accordion
Lyytikäinen's popular piece for accordion dates from 2013. According to the reviews the music is rewarding to listen to, carefully crafted, the timbres forged from the accordion are rich and beautiful, and the full bellows are used expressively.
55011-238-4, € 21,30 Buy now

Olli Kortekangas: Höstlig skärgård (Hommage à Jean Sibelius)

for male choir (TTBB)
Text: Tomas Tranströmer (in Swedish)
The YL Male Voice Choir commissioned this piece for a performance in April 2015.
55011-228-5, € 17,00 Buy now

Harri Wessman: Five Flute Pieces for Arja Pohjoismäki / Viisi huilukappaletta Arja Pohjoismäelle

for flute and piano
Easy flute pieces. The accompaniment is also available as a string orchestra arragement by the composer.
1. Triplets, 2. Legato, 3. Figuration, 4. The Flight of the Mosquito, 5. Double-tongue March
55011-240-7, € 14,90 Buy now

Harri Wessman: Five Double Bass Pieces for Amanda Thielme / Viisi kontrabassokappaletta Amanda Thiemelle

for double bass and piano
These pieces continue the line of easy and rewarding pedagogigal pieces that Wessman has composed for different instruments.
55011-241-4, € 14,90 Buy now

News & Events

Cat: News and events, Composers, Lotta Wennäkoski
Cat: News and events, Composers, Whittall, Matthew
Cat: Composers, Kortekangas, Olli, News and events
Cat: News and events, Composers, Puumala, Veli-Matti
Cat: News and events, Composers, Tormis, Veljo
Cat: News and events, Composers, Nuorvala, Juhani
Cat: News and events, Composers, Hakola, Kimmo
Cat: News and events
Cat: Composers, News and events, Reinvere, Jüri
August - 2015
Mo Tu We Th Fr Sa Su
04 05
07 08
10 11 12 13 14 15 16
17 18 19 20
22 23
24 25 26 27
29 30
Monday, 03. August 2015

Piano Day / Pianopäivä

4 catchy pieces for piano by Mirka Vähtäri
Make today Piano Day. You won’t be disappointed! These pieces dream, dare, swing – and will get you hooked. They will also develop your skills and technique with their carefully-devised pedagogical approach. Some of the pieces are easy and suitable for beginners, but there are also some for more advanced pianists. And a few of them are for four hands.

“I simply loved this collection. I felt I was opening a treasure chest! The compositions are fresh, pianistic, and sit well under the hands. They are also well thought-out pedagogically providing practice in various techniques and especially interpretation (e.g. The Dreamer). Some of the pieces are sure to be real hits: Rain and Waves is brilliant for the first few piano lessons: a welcome alternative to Chopsticks!”  
Kristiina Jääskeläinen, Piano Teacher, DocMus


Colour Keys Colourkeys
Colour Keys
An inspiring and colourful tutor for small piano players.

Read more and browse sample pages.
The Teacher's guides are now available in our web shop!

Colourstrings - The colourful method for young string players which is taught all over the world

Colourstrings is the unique method for young string players developed by Géza and Csaba Szilvay. It has produced several enthusiasts and many fine string players around the world.
The violin method is complete with 6 Colourstrings Violin ABC Books and other material. The Cello ABC Book has been published in 2 volumes, and there are the A books available for viola and double bass.

Opens internal link in current windowBooks & tutors

Opens internal link in current windowSee how Géza Szilvay uses the method and teaches children and groups from the initial stages (International Minifiddlers)

Opens internal link in current windowMore about the method

Opens internal link in current windowInformation about courses and events

2011 © Fennica Gehrman, PO Box 158, FI-00121 Helsinki, Finland, info@fennicagehrman.fi

Website Lieska-Tuotanto