Latest publications & news

Kyllönen's Trio no. 4 op. 38 (1994) for was commissioned by the Association of Finnish Music Schools. The 12-minute piece can also be performed with different descant instruments: two violins, violin & clarinet or flute & violin. Buy now

Read more

Christmas Suite for soprano, trumpet (or piccolo trumpet or flugelhorn) and organ was commissioned by the Swedish congregation of Espoo in 1999 to celebrate the new millennium. The texts (in Swedish) include Medieval prayers praising Mary and Psalm 96. Duration 16 min.
Score & trumpet part 55011-730-3, 24,90 € Buy now

Read more

for mixed choir, soprano, pf and glsp
The Touch of Christmas is a testament of love to the nature and the Christmas season. Available also in Finnish (Joulun kosketus).
The Touch of Christmas:
55011-460-9, € 7,20 Buy now
Joulun kosketus:
55011-459-3, € 7,20 Buy now

Read more

for saxophone trio
Kyllönen's beautiful and tranquil small-scale polyphonic pieces were originally written for women's choir. This transcription for saxophone trio (soprano, alto, baritone) is done by the composer. Three movements: Alleluia, vidimus stellam; Alleluia II, Alleluia III. Score and parts: 55011-445-6, € 22,50 Buy now

Read more

 Concerto for Accordion and Symphony Orchestra No. 1
St. Petersburg State Academic Capella SO, cond. Alexander Chernushenko, sol. Matti Rantanen (accordion) (Alba ABCD 256)

St. Petersburg State Academic Capella SO, cond. Alexander Chernushenko (Alba ABCD 256)


Timo-Juhani Kyllönen

Timo-Juhani Kyllönen (born 1 December 1955) studied at the Gnesin Institute in Moscow, obtaining diplomas in the accordion, orchestral conducting and pedagogics. He then continued at the Tchaikovsky Conservatoire, studying composition, instrumentation and counterpoint with Aleksei Nikolayev, Yuri Fortunatov and Aleksander Chugayev.

Kyllönen is a prolific composer who has composed a large number of works including orchestral and chamber music, vocal and choral works. The core of his oeuvre consists of chamber, choral and vocal pieces for various combinations of voices and instruments. His aim is to communicate with people, and his music is indeed marked by a natural mode of expression in which melody often plays an important part.

His works include several operas such as Tango Solo, a monologue opera in Spanish set in Buenos Aires by Night, premiered in 2011. Among his orchestral works are Lichtenthal (1998), the Accordion Concerto (2001), Concerto grosso (2002), Amor vivus for baritone and orchestra (2007), Missa festiva (2008), Concerto for Trumpet and Orchestra ‘Cadiz’ (2012) and the Marimba Concerto (2017). One of his latest works is the monologue opera Ilona Irti (Release the Joy) Op. 100 to the libretto by Leena Lehtolainen. It was premiered at the Organ Night and Aria festival in Espoo on 18 August by soprano Aurora Marthens and the Trio Roozeman. You can watch the complete opera here.

Many of Kyllönen's works have won an established position in the repertoire of musicians and choirs both in Finland and abroad. Concerts of his works have been given in New York, Moscow, Paris, Finland, Sweden, Germany, Ireland, Israel, Peru, Brazil and Cuba. His music has also been widely performed in Europe, Asia, Australia, North and Latin America. Kyllönen has taught music theory, composition and chamber music at the Sibelius Academy since 1986. He is also an active musician and choral conductor.


Timo-Juhani Kyllönen home page

Browse the publications in our web shop at Kirjavalitys.