Latest publications & news

The qualitative elements of bars with their upbeats, accents and GPs create a refined musical rhetoric in this piece for bassoon and piano. The roguish poetic metres gambol jerkily along, and although at surface level the music may appear guileless, Lintinen knows his polyphony, judging by the capital roving of his voices even in the homophonic textures.
55011-524-8, € 21,10 Buy now

Read more

for saxophone quartet (SATB)
Quattro capricci composed in 2002-04 and revised in 2006 is in four movements which are, as the title of the work suggest, capricious and imaginative in character.
55011-467-8, € 39,90 Buy now

Read more

for octet (cl, fg, hrn, vl 1, vl 2, vla, vcl, cb).
In Ballata Concertante (2015-16) Kirmo Lintinen looks back in time, to the Italy of the "trecento" and specifically the Renaissance Florence. It is a rhythmically vibrant piece and intended for performance without a conductor.
Score and parts are sold together: 55011-440-1, € 48,00 Buy now

Read more

Kirmo Lintinen's Concerto for Guitar is charming music that bubbles on with an unresisting power. The elegant whirls of waltz and dreamy sections lead to a folk-dance-like finale. Piano reduction and solo part: 55011-413-5, € 32,80 Buy now

Read more

Kirmo Lintinen

Kirmo Lintinen
(born 16 May 1967) studied composing and the piano at the Sibelius Academy. He is a versatile musician and composer who can look back over a long career in jazz, as a composer, arranger, pianist and conductor. He nevertheless regards himself primarily as a composer in genres ranging from jazz to classical – often cheerfully intermixed – and has written operas, concertos, film music, chamber works, music for children and big band pieces for the UMO Jazz Orchestra of which he has long been a key figure as a pianist and conductor.

In recent years Lintinen has been concentrating particularly on concert music, which nowadays constitutes the bulk of his considerable output. Among the works published by Fennica Gehrman are concertos for piano (No. 1, commissioned by the Finnish Broadcasting Company/RSO and premiered by Jouko Laivuori in 2009), guitar (2011, commissioned by the Chamber Orchestra of Lapland and dedicated to Ismo Eskelinen) and clarinet (2013, commissioned by and dedicated to Harri Mäki). His works include the Accordion Concerto (2015, commissioned by the Kokkola Winter Accordion Festival) and the Tuba Concerto (2014, commissioned by the Helsinki Philharmonic Orchestra). Other orchestral published by Fennica Gehrman include Mobile festivo (2003) for orchestra and six pieces of chamber music.

Works for sale

Browse the publications in our web shop at Kirjavalitys.