Latest publications & news

These delightful piano pieces are now available as downloadable and printable PDF editions:


Jenny Elfving:
-Berceuce for Märtha, 55016-602-8, € 5,90 Buy now
-Prelude, 55016-601-1, € 4,90 Buy now

Karl Flodin:
-2 Klaverstycken, 55016-625-7, € 5,90 Buy now
-Gavotte de Mona Lisa, 55016-624-0, € 5,90 Buy now
-Suite mignonne, 55016-623-3, € 7,90 Buy now
-Valse tendre, 55016-622-6, € 4,90 Buy now

Erik Fordell:
-Ilta kaislikossa, 55016-626-4, € 4,90 Buy now

Ilmari Hannikainen:
-Berceuse Op. 4/2, 55016-593-9, € 4,90 Buy now
-Virvatuli (Scherzo), 55016-591-5, € 5,90 Buy now
-Gavotte from the ballet Cinderella, 55016-592-2, € 4,90 Buy now

Heino Kaski:
-Ballade Op. 1/1, 55016-594-6, € 5,90 Buy now

Yrjö Kilpinen:
-Trauermarsch I, 55016-603-5, € 4,90 Buy now

Toivo Kuula:
-Barcarolle Op. 37/2, 55016-614-1, € 4,90 Buy now
-Nocturne Op. 26/4, 55016-615-8, € 5,90 Buy now
-Pastorale Op. 26/2, 55016-616-5, € 5,90 Buy now
-Piirileikki Op. 26/1, 55016-617-2, € 4,90 Buy now
-Virta venhettä vie Op....

Read more

The six-movement Per speculum in enigmatae suite (Through a glass, darkly) is published for the first time. Melartin assembled it from different separate pieces. The biblical heading maybe has a spiritual rather than a religious connotation, though some of the movements – and the title – are programmatic.
55011-630-6, € 12,50 Buy now

Read more

The first five symphonies by Erkki Melartin (1875–1937) represent the Finnish National Romantic music heritage based on Austo-German orchestral tradition. Melartin considered the Symphony No. 3 as his “testament” and a “description of a battle towards enjoying life”. The new Melartin symphonies editions of are born as a project of Erkki Melartin Society with the support of the Finnish Cultural Foundation.
Study score 55011-134-9, € 34,50 Buy now

Read more

The Little Quartet for Four Horns op. 185 by Erkki Melartin was commissioned by the progenitor of Finnish horn playing, Holger Fransman (1909-1997). The transcription for four saxophones (soprano/alto, alto, tenor, baritone) is faithful to the original horn version.
55011-533-0, € 19,90 Buy now

Read more

A work commissioned by Holger Fransman. The Helsinki Music Institute's horn class received this three movement quartet for the spring concert in May 1936 when a composition for four French horns was a rarity in Finland. The quartet was performed for decades as Fransman's arrangement. This edition is based on the original version of the composer.
55011-475-3, € 19,90 Buy now

Read more

Erkki Melartin

Erkki Melartin (1875-1937) was one of the most prolific Finnish composers of all times, with an oeuvre running to more than thousand items. In addition to composing, he was principal of the Helsinki Music Institute and Conservatory (predecessor of the Sibelius Academy) for a quarter of a century, and travelled widely in Central and Southern Europe and even as far away as North Africa, Egypt and India.

A learned musician, Melartin was in full command of his stock in trade and the art and technique of composition. He also possessed an unquenchable thirst for new musical trends, never marking time and constantly working on his idiom to produce a synthesis of the lexicon of the Late Romantic and the invention of Impressionism and Expressionism.

His extensive output for orchestra includes six symphonies, symphonic poems, a violin concerto, two ballets and music for a dozen or so plays, among them music for the play The Sleeping Beauty. On top of these he wrote chamber music for various combinations of instruments as well as hundreds of piano pieces and songs. Melartin’s songs are of rare stylistic diversity, ranging from lyrical, nature-inspired mood pictures to impressionistic and at times even highly expressionistic pieces. His choice of texts reflects his broad education, for he was equally at home in both Finnish and foreign poetry.

Melartin’s opera Aino (1909), "a Kalevalaic mystery", was one of the first great Finnish operas to find a place in the permanent repertoire. In musical idiom the opera is Late Romantic, but it also has Impressionistic overtones, and Melartin also made flexible use of Wagnerian leitmotiv technique.

Browse the publications in our web shop at Kirjavalitys.