Nordic Highlights 4/2018

Highlights is our newsletter focusing on classical and contemporary music from the Nordic countries. You can download the most recent Highlights and find here in-depth material of music presented in it.

Juhani Nuorvala's opera Flash Flash

Flash Flash (2005) is an opera about Andy Warhol with music by Juhani Nuorvala and text (in English) by Juha Siltanen. This clip is from a semi-staged concert performance of the middle act at the Musica nova festival, Helsinki 2009. The whole opera will be premiered on 9 February in Helsinki as part of the Musica nova program.

Kalevi Aho at 70 on 9 March

Read more about the composer 

Premieres during spring 2019:

Concerto for Two Bassoons
Warsaw PO/Niklas Willén, sol. Bram van Sambeek & Leszek Wachnik, 18. January

Kirje tuolle puolen (A Letter to the Netherworld)
Ostrobothnian CO/Juha Kangas, 19. January

Symphony No. 17
Lahti SO/Dima Slobodeniouk, 4. April

Guitar Concerto
Lapland CO/John Storgårds, sol. Ismo Eskelinen, 10 May

Triple Concerto for Violin, Cello and Piano

Antwerp SO, Storioni Trio/Martyn Brabbins, 11. May

Armas Järnefelt: 150th anniversary of birth

Year 2019 will mark Armas Järnefelt’s 150th anniversary of birth.
Järnefelt was definitely one of the most exciting and most original Finnish composers of the Romantic era.
The Järnefelt Society is compiling a calendar of events in the jubilee year at

Read more about Järnefelt

Armas Järnefelt - A Finnish Wagnerian (article by Kimmo Korhonen)